Reviews2018-10-10T07:43:12+00:00

Angie and Craighall Garden have indeed set a very high standard for hospitality …

AMIT
September 2018
“Craighall Garden happens to be my very first booking on Airbnb. Call it beginner’s luck but I couldn’t have imagined a better experience even if I had scripted it myself. First up, the location. Craighall Garden is situated in a pretty, quiet, extremely safe part of Johannesburg and a ride into the heart of town never cost me more than 40-50 ZAR on Uber. The room itself, though of moderate size, was well appointed, with all amenities (like cutlery, a handy little microwave, mini cooler and closet space) that one could wish for. Overlooking the room is a sculpted garden that is the perfect backdrop to an enjoyable, restful stay. While staying there, I not only had easy access to my room, but also the main gate, which is so important for one’s sense of independence and privacy. But while all this is great, it is not what makes Craighall Garden so special. The real credit for that goes to the host, Angie. From the moment I set foot in her establishment till the time I departed, her numerous thoughtful gestures touched me deeply – from an early check-in to a jar of coffee and bowl of milk, to a nice, warm bed every evening I returned tired from my travels, every need was anticipated and taken care of. The breakfast, though I requested it pretty late, turned out to be sumptuous and served as lovingly as it would be back home. In fact that is a trait which defines everything Angie does for those she hosts – to treat them as part of her family rather than paying guests. This is what lifts Craighall Garden from being just another listing on Airbnb to a place that makes you feel warm and nostalgic each time you flip through your travel pics. Angie and Craighall Garden have indeed set a very high standard for hospitality and I will be keen to find out how my next booking measures up to it. Would I recommend this place to others? Of course, what are you waiting for?”

“What a great six week stay “

Michelle Le Vieux
3rd October 2018

What a great six week stay my husband and I had in the Bamboo Garden Suite.
Angie, the owner, is an absolute delight, nothing is too much trouble to her.
She was always on the lookout to make our stay more comfortable – we were a way for a few days returning late in the evening,
so Angie turned on the lights to welcome us home.
Our stay was filled with these small powerful gestures of showing genuine care.

“Wonderfull guest house”

07/12/2017 Oriane_Loton Paris, France

I went there for 1 month and I found an amazing place with a garden and a lovely loft. The owner Angie is just the most kindess person I ever met. She helped me when I had some issues and every little problem I met was solved very fast. Thank you so much for your help and your availability! Oriane

“Wonderful stay at Craighall Gardens”

07/12/2017 charlotte s

I had the great pleasure to stay at Craighall Gardens during a month for business. I stayed in the brand-new bamboo suite. The suite is very charming and comfy. Decorated with great taste. The whole place is very calm and very secure. Angie, the landlord is absolutely wonderful, very available and so keen to please everyone! All the other suites and lofts are all very beautiful and comfy. I highly recommend any suite/lofts there!

“Home away from Home”

28/11/2017 Sibs18 Pretoria, South Africa

Booked this place for a weekend. We checked in very late however we were warmly welcomed. This place offers great location, close to all major areas, malls and places to dine and have drinks. The owner Angie has excellent hosting skills with a touch of a personal reception. The room was great , spacious with all the necessities. The establishment rooms are nicely decorated, with good furniture. My stay offered me a homely feel. The place was very quiet, comfortable and easy accessible. Angie makes us feel at home, she goes all out for her guests. Whenever we came back the room was neat and warm. Please keep up the excellent hosting.

“Very Comfortable”

28/06/2017 rossmI5918XG

Relaxing setting, close proximity to surrounding shops and highways. Secure area and easy location for Uber drivers to find. Very comfortable stay, would definitely recommend it and hope to stay there in the future.

“Excellent”

22/02/2017 kerim618 Rotterdam, New York

The service was excellent. Even we could have a late check out. The guest house owner, Angie, was also very helpful with our queries. No complaints at all! Definitely recommend to stay at this place which is located in a clean and good positioned area.

“Beautiful place with a wonderful host”

26/01/2017 Scruffy A Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Craighall garden guesthouse is a great place to stay in Joburg. Located in a nice residential neighborhood close to Hyde Park corner it feels safe and cozy. The rooms are modern and clean. Angie, the host, is a wonderful person with great interest in arts and literature. It is a pleasure to be her guest. She is very caring and helpful and can give you lots of advice. She also serves a wonderful breakfast and goes out of her way to make you feel at home. And her pancakes are superb. It was such a treat to stay with her!

“Great place!!”

02/11/2016 318shepherdm Harare

A nice place to stay and do business deep inside Joburg. It’s quite enough for you to get away from the busy streets of Joburg. Located in a quiet and safe neighborhood that is very close to good shopping malls. Very good for business trips.

“Wonderful host and lovely atmosphere”

11/08/2016 Maria K

The stay at Craighall Garden was really lovely, especially because of the caring and attentive host. The room and the atmosphere was also very beautiful. It is a very safe area and you should definitely try the Corner Cafe which is just around the corner 😉 The food was very good and the price absolutely fine. We really enjoyed our stay at Craighall Garden! Thanks Angie! 🙂

Joe – China

Nice-decorated and spacious room, living facilities, and for sure,
the very helpful and thoughtful host Angie.

Abouttown – United Kingdom

Quite possibly the best linens we’ve ever had! Angie, the ageless goddess,
is quite literally the most welcoming wonderful host you could wish for.

James – South Africa

The host is really caring that I will not hesitate to visit again

Karen – South Africa

Friendly staff, especially owner Angie Attention to detail

Zuko – South Africa

The staff was very welcoming. The place and area was very peaceful.

Nelisiwe – United Arab Emirates

My fiancé and I loved every single thing about the house, Angie the owner was simply amazing, she anticipated our every need, she made sure we were very warm and comfortable, even the meals were personalised, breakfast was served at our leisure and in accordance with our preference and diet. We checked in really late because of our flight, but she gave us a warm welcome nonetheless and still took us on a brief tour around the property. We are definitely coming back.

Tom – South Africa

Nice warm room I came back to on a cold night, and extra lovely
surprise was the warm bed!  Angie is a very thoughtful hostess

Elisabeth – Brazil

The space and the location, the room was quite big and the
location is central for me.

Michael South Africa

Angie the owner was very helpful, met us as we arrived and showed us the accommodation, explained the facilities and gave us the Wi-Fi codes. the bed was very comfortable. The accommodation is centrally situated, close to shopping and entertainment, main roads are nearby. Will certainly go back.

Emmerentia South Africa

Very friendly & helpful host. Breakfast was fantastic.

Review your stay with us